Tournament system

There will be the ten best teams of the continent, both men and women, in the 2017 IBSA Goalball A Division European Championships. The tournament consists of the top seven teams of the 2015 European Championships and top three teams of the 2016 B Division European Championships.

The teams are seeded in two pools with five teams each (men: A and B, women: X and Y). Inside the pool the teams will meet each other once (matches played on 18.–19.9.). The top four teams from each pool go to the quarterfinals played on Wednesday 20th of September. Teams that finish fifth in the pool will play against each other for the 9th place in the tournament.


  • QF 1: A1–B4 and X1Y4
  • QF 2: B2–A3 and Y2–X3
  • QF 3: B1–A4 and Y1–X4
  • QF 4: A2–B3 and X2–Y3

Losers of the quarterfinals will play for the places 5–8th on Thursday 21st of September and the team finishing 8th will be relegated to the B Division together with teams finishing 9th and 10th.

Winners of the quarterfinals will play in the semifinals on Thursday 21st of September


  • SF 1: Winner QF1–Winner QF2
  • SF 2: Winner QF3–Winner QF4

The medal matches will be played on Friday 22nd of September.

Teams finishing 8th, 9th and 10th in the European Championships will be relegated to the Division B in both men and women.

The European Championships will also be a qualification tournament for the 2018 IBSA Goalball World Championships (men and women) held in Malmö, Sweden.